Work Life Balance

Holding down a job is not too hard. Holding down a job and trying to remain sane is another story.

From the pile of tasks (re)assigned to you, to the irritable comments of co-workers that rub you the wrong way; there is no end to pointing out what is wrong with Japanese working culture (especially corporate salary-man culture).

Come October, I’ll have finished my 3rd full year as a corporate salary-man. I look back and see the person I was 3 years ago and the person I am now, I think I can say that my past self would be relieved. Sure, a lot of that has to do with my work ethic and planning I did for my career, but that’s not what this blog is about. Instead, I will highlight the fact that having an addictive hobby such as skydiving gave me the motivation to get through the work week.

I used to dread making a mistake at work, fearing that it would stunt my career. It was highly stressful and really pointless. Skydiving helped me put all of that into perspective. I asked myself “What’s the worst thing that can happen?”

Skydiving regularly gives me that escape and thrill. Plummeting to the earth at over 200km/h, you’re not worried about if that project will be completed on time. It gives me the chance to realize how insignificant my problems are. In a way, skydiving helps me re-perceive my reality more clearly.

I am writing this post now on a Sunday evening.
Monday morning, I will be ready for another week of the grind.
My Work-Life Balance is achieved through skydiving.

Don’t get me wrong, I will still be wishing it was Friday…

Leave a Reply

