2016.10.15 Night Jumps

About 4 days before the weekend, I decided to check the weather forecast. It was perfect for the scheduled night jump.After many foiled attempts at organizing a night jump here at the Tokyo Skydiving Club, we finally got our opportunity. The sky opened up with not a single cloud visible as far as the eye can see. In fact, today was the first time I could see the Tokyo Skytree from the plane.

Being that this was my first night-jump, I had to settle with a jump from 6,000ft. I opened my chute at 5,000ft because I was the last out on the jump run. Freefall in the dark was so short, I didn’t have time to feel worried. When I pulled my parachute, I had aimed for the cluster of lights which was not as bright as I had anticipated. It wasn’t until under 3,000ft that I was sure that it was the right area… Thankfully it was.

My mind was calm and clear and I knew the things I needed to do. But I could see that my hands were not as cooperative and slightly shaky as I reached for the toggles. Soon after my landing, I could feel a new type of adrenaline in my veins.

Part of me is relieved it’s over. Another part can’t wait for the next one.

Leave a Reply

